Home » Self-Care » So You Forgot To Write A Post This Week

So You Forgot To Write A Post This Week

In the midst of preparing for my big move, I did not have time to write my promised post on internship interviews. Also I forgot today was Thursday. But I promised you a weekly blog, and a weekly blog you shall get, so instead here is a list of the 12 funniest things my students said this past semester. Some are unintelligent, and others are just hilarious. I tried to get them as close to word-for-word as I could, but a few are paraphrased due to my Old Woman Memory. Pick your favorite. (For the record, I love my students.)

– “Is the final exam mandatory?”
– “Does this youtube video count as an empirical article?”
– (After distributing a study guide that I had announced contained all of the questions that will be on the midterm) “When will you be sending out the answer sheet to the study guide?”
– “Positive reinforcement is when a subject is presented with a stimulating stimulus that leads to an increase in the behavior.”
– “Negative reinforcement is when someone does a desired behavior poorly but you want them to keep trying so you give them good feedback anyway. An example is when a child plays softball poorly and the coach tells them they did a good job so they will keep trying.”
– “I know you said the final is take-home, but will you not be present on the day of the exam?”
– (2 hours after turning in mid terms, at the start of Spring Break) “When will our grades be available?”
– (In an essay on the topic of how fear serves as a motivator) “In the 2012 election between Obama and Mittromney…” (Mitt Romney was consistently spelled Mittromney throughout the paper. The student thought this was his last name.)
– “My presentation today focuses on why people find racism funny.”
– “Fear appeals are built upon fear.”
– “…for example, reacting to a nonexistent threat, such as a dog that is really a bush is not as dangerous as the other way around…”
– “I don’t think humans are innately evil. Even the most horrible murdering dictator was probably nice to puppies or something.”
Leave a Reply

